Member Search | Print Page | Your Cart | Sign In
News & Press: News Item

2020 Missouri Certified Local Government Officials

Tuesday, September 15, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Laura Holloway
Share |


Sept. 15, 2020 


Thirty Five Missouri Local Government Officials Earn Certification

Through Municipal Governance Institute


JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – Congratulations to this year's MML Certified Municipal Officials through MML's Municipal Governance Institute! 


The Municipal Governance Institute was created under the direction of the Missouri Municipal League’s board of directors, to provide a training program focused on the important areas municipal officials and professional staff need to best serve their communities.

“All MGI participants spend many hours over several years attending workshops and lectures on the finer points of municipal government,” said MML Executive Director Dan Ross. “Earning the CMO designation is a significant achievement, and I commend all participants for their dedication and motivation to become better informed and more effective municipal officials.”

To qualify for the designation, participants must complete 16 credit hours in subjects ranging from the Missouri Open Meeting Law, to budgets to planning and zoning. More than 200 Missouri Municipal Officials are enrolled in the program. 

A new Advanced Certification Program is also available, requiring an additional 14 core hours and three capstone projects in community service, advocacy and leadership.

Recipients are:

Kim Barfield – City of Pacific

Brooke D. Atha Bell –City of Savannah

Tara Berreth – City of Osage Beach

Patrick C. Casey – City of Sugar Creek

Jim Christian – City of Bellefontaine Neighbors

Kristen T. Dehart – City of Excelsior Springs

Joan Evans – City of Jackson

Dale Jacobson – City of Raymore

Lindsey l. Jorgensen – City of Lake Lotawana

Jeff Kempker – Missouri LAGERS

Greg McDanel – City of Maryville

Megan Page – formerly with the City of Sedalia

Valerie Pearman – formerly with the City of North Kansas City

Damon Randolph – City of Grandview

Randy Reed – City of Kimberling City

Marcieta D. Reed – City of Vanita Park

John F. Roach, III – City of LaGrange

Heather N. Russell – City of Centralia

Jeffrey A. Stone – City of Fulton

Joyce Townsend – City of St. Peters

Elwyn Walls – formerly with the City of Pine Lawn

Terry Wilson – City of Jennings

Jeana L. Woods – City of Osage Beach

Cheyenne Wright – City of Neosho

Melissa Ziemianin – City of Pineville

If you would like to learn more about MGI and how to become a Certified Municipal Official, or learn more about the Advanced program, visit

The Missouri Municipal League provides a united voice for municipalities across Missouri.  Founded in 1934, MML now serves nearly 640 municipalities with training, resources and legislative advocacy for local government success. Learn more about the League and the Municipal Governance Institute at


Missouri Municipal League

1727 Southridge Dr. Jefferson City, MO 65109

P: 573.635.9134 | F: 573.635.9009 |