Missouri Municipal Attorneys Association

1727 Southridge Dr.; Jefferson City, MO 65109; Phone (573) 635-9134; www.mocities.com

The Missouri Municipal Attorneys Association (MMAA) is an affiliated association of the Missouri Municipal League (MML), a voluntary, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization. The MMAA is created primarily for the purpose of enhancing cooperation among and between municipal attorneys in the State of Missouri and establishing relationships with state and municipal officials, both elected and appointed.
The Missouri Municipal Attorneys Association (MMAA) provides excellent training and networking opportunities for attorneys whose practice focuses on municipal issues.  Membership is open to attorneys who serve as city attorneys for MML member cities.  City officials with new attorneys may wish to encourage them to consider joining MMAA. 

MMAA member attorneys who represent communities of less than 2,500 will receive a free membership in the International Municipal Lawyers Association (IMLA) by virtue of MMAA participation in the IMLA lite program.  Member benefits from IMLA include the IMLA magazine, newsletter and member pricing for IMLA trainings.

2023-2024 MMAA OFFICERS        
Jeremy Cover (Lauber Law), President
Erin Seele (CVR Law), First Vice President
Tara Kelly (Kansas City), Second Vice President
Ryan Moehlman (Jefferson City), Immediate Past President                          
Stephanie Karr (CHGO Law), Board of Directors
Greg Young (Cape Girardeau), Board of Directors


2023-24 Prosecutors Committee
Ron Dreisilker, Associate County Counselor, St. Charles County
Mitch Langford, Municipal Prosecutor, City of Independence
Todd Smith, Associate, Lauber Municipal Law
Craig Smith, Principal, Curtis, Heinz, Garrett & O’Keefe, P.C.
Megan McCullough, Prosecutor, City of Republic

Greg Young - Liaison for MMAA Board & Prosecutor committee


MML Staff Liaison to MMAA:  Stuart Haynes,
Director of Policy and Administration



MEMBERSHIP BENEFITS:  Members will receive the monthly Municipal Attorney's Newsletter, announcements of meetings of municipal interest and can attend the Summer Seminar. Members may also join the "members only listserv" that allows members throught the state to pose questions on municipal topics.

•    MMAA Summer Seminar - The Missouri Municipal Attorneys Association (MMAA) will meet for a summer seminar July 12-14, 2024, at Margaritaville Lake Resort in Osage Beach, Missouri. More information on the conference will be provided to members closer to the event.

MMAA Full Membership - All full-time or part-time appointed or elected attorneys including deputies, assistants and prosecutors who represent legal counsel for a municipality that is a member of the MML are eligible for full membership in the MMAA. This also includes similar positions with member counties.

Associate Membership - Any attorney admitted to practice law in the state of Missouri who serves as special counsel to a municipality, or who regularly practices in the area of municipal law, may become an Associate Member.

Membership Fee - Annual Membership Dues are $75.00 for a Full Membership and an Associate Membership. Membership year runs from June 1 - May 31. Membership dues are not pro-rated.

*All memberships must be approved  the by MMAA Board of Directors before an invoice is sent for membership payment.

JOIN MMAA  Complete the application form and email for approval to [email protected]. Once approved, you will be emailed an invoice for payment. 

MMAA Bylaws: Click here for the MMAA Bylaws (amended July, 2019)

MMAA Listserv:  If you would like to join the attorney's listserv, please send a message with your email address to Lori Noe

MMAA Newsletter: View the MMAA Newsletter on the MMAA Blog.

Lou Czech Award: At the business meeting held as part of the 1994 Annual Conference the membership of the Missouri Municipal Attorney’s Association established the Lou Czech Award.  The award is “to be presented annually to the member displaying the same high standards of accomplishment, professionalism and ethical conduct as exhibited by Lou Czech.”  

Click here for list of past Lou Czech Award Winners